when it’s a rest day, bake!

Hey kids! Today was a rest day, unfortunately – I woke up at 6:30 to run, and it was a gorgeous cool summer morning. Wish they were all as perfect as this one. But when I convinced myself to dig myself out of my warm burrito of blankets and hopped into the chill morning air in my bedroom, I immediately felt my right Achilles and heel/bone spur. That area was painfully tight and taking even just a step or two was pretty bad. Granted, that spot is always stiff and sore in the morning (since the… I-word occurred. I won’t admit to weakness! Never!), but today was particularly grimace-inducing. I walked around for a couple minutes hoping the stiffness would work itself out, which usually happens quickly enough in the morning or just throughout the day, but it didn’t seem to be fading… that, compounded with the fact that the ball of my right foot was also hurting more AND my legs were pretty damn tired, I half-grudgingly, half-giddily snuggled back into bed for another hour of sleep before reading before making delicious vanilla-honey-brown sugar-raisin oatmeal for breakfast before going to work (bleh).

So, with all that being said, je vous presente: les GRANOLA BARS! I used this recipe, but I just used the base (applesauce, honey, vanilla, cinnamon, and oats) and mixed in dark chocolate chips, dried cranberries and cherries, and sliced almonds, and used extra vanilla; I also added nutmeg, I believe, and a tiny bit of large-chunk sea salt. (Not sure on the measurements of anything, I just tossed it in as I see fit – the best way to bake!) I eschewed the cashews, raisins, and sunflower seeds (though I might put the latter in next time, we shall see…)

peace love and running!
bec

One thought on “when it’s a rest day, bake!

Leave a Reply

