Ludington report!

It’s a bit delayed, but… Ludington was awesome. It doesn’t make for the most enthralling story, but it was a Good Trip. I only ended up running twice, once for 45 minutes on sandy trails (eugh) and once for longer (75 minutes, I think) along the beach with some fun dune running thrown in for variation. There was also a snake on that run, less for variation and more for a reason to head the other way down the beach. I would have run more if (a) it hadn’t been quite so sandy (dunes do that) or (b) if we had camped closer to the singletrack farther north along the beach. Ah well, Ludington isn’t going anywhere. I’ll be back.

Running aside, the trip was quite enjoyable. We had pretty good weather, especially the first day – hot, dry, and sunny. The other days were cloudy and a bit cooler, but still good. We only got rain the last morning, which is surprising considering my family’s curse: when we camp, it rains. Period. Hmm, what else… we did a lot of walking along the beach, finding dead things and skipping rocks and exploring dunes and whatnot. Turns out, walking in sand is tiring for your feet. I was surprised just how tired the very muscles of my feet were just from walking barefoot in the sand for a few hours. We also went into town for one afternoon, which I would have rather eschewed – except we got Real Food, and a lot of it. (House of Flavors in Ludington – go there! Excellent fries.) The nights were filled with fire and conversation and perhaps a drop of rum and/or tequila. Oh, and the niggling irrational fear that every sound you heard was indeed a bear. (Hiking to our camp the first night, as the sun was setting, we heard a Noise that I am 99% sure was actually a bear. The guys are more like 80% sure, but I’m sticking to my 99.) And the shooting stars! So many, every night. And the sky was so clear and un-light-polluted that (sleeping outside all but one night) we could see the Milky Way and lots of star clusters. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen those (sadly).

And now for pictures!


Crazy fish we found. three or four layers of teeth on this bad boy.

Forgot about this – I woke up early the first morning (well, all the mornings) and perched in a tree not 200 feet away were two bald eagles. Two!


Camp – although we built a lean-to for shade next to the fire later that day.

Bottom line: I ❤ camping and would live outside for the rest of my life, if I could. I might, once I escape college and move to the mountains somewhere. Yeah, I’ll be that crazy person we all know and love and are a little worried about.

peace love and running!
bec

Leave a Reply

