carrying on the fine tradition… (Oatmeal cookies)

I baked on my rest day! Of course it had to be done.

I modified this recipe, which I’ve used before, but they turned out better this time – I think because I took them out when I was supposed to. That helps, I’ve heard.  😛

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip/Raisin Cookies
(makes 12 2.5-inch cookies)

3/4 cup whole wheat flour
2/3 cup brown sugar
2T unsalted butter, softened
about 2T cinnamon applesauce
1 egg
2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp baking soda (I just estimated)
1 tsp cinnamon (estimated again)
dash of nutmeg
sprinkle of honey
some sea salt
1 cup old-fashioned oats
1/4 chocolate chips*
1/4 cup raisins*
*you can leave these out if you want, or substitute nuts or something

Oven at 350, spoon ‘em out onto wax paper (or baking parchment if you’re fancy), leave ‘em in for about 10 minutes – until they’re golden-brownish on top. DON’T leave them in for too long! Let them cool on the pan for 5 minutes or so, then transfer to a cooling rack. Grab one while they’re warm  🙂  (They have a definite cakey texture, but if left in for the right amount of time, the edges and such have a bit of crunch.)

On a running note, good luck and happy running to a couple acquaintances from the Buckeye Buster 50k – Jeremey, Justin, and Star (and her husband Darris) – who are running the Burning River 100 tomorrow in Ohio. I’ll be following your progress!

peace love and running!
bec

 

Leave a Reply

