race recovery

So I ran 4.5 yesterday, and it was fine. I was planning to run in the afternoon, but my ankles/knees were a little sore, so I didn’t. Then this morning I was supposed to do 4.5ish again, but I lasted about 6 minutes… my heels/ankles, my right bone spur in particular, was really hurting… Alas, today ended up being a rest day.

I realize now that my problem is recognizing when I actually need to rest, and how much damage certain runs do, and how much recovery time they require. I’d planned on a 50-odd mile week this week… yeah, I don’t think that’s going to happen. I have a problem with changing my plans, though; once something’s on the calendar, if I don’t run that, I feel like I’m slacking off. I need to accept that this week is going to be very, very light mileage.

Other than my ankles/heels hurting, the only lingering thing seems to be extreme fatigue. I just haven’t had energy this week. I slept 8 hours last night, napped for 2.5 (waking up at 7 pm), and am going to bed now (9:50).

I just need to listen to what my body is trying to tell me.

peace love and SLEEP
bec

Leave a Reply

