Hiking can be good too.

I’m being good and resisting (successfully!) the urge to get up and runrunrun 24/7 now, so today I went out and hiked with NO RUNNING AT ALL for about four hours, a little more. I wore my Salomon XA Pro 3D Ultra 2s (longest shoe name ever) to prevent myself from running even if I wanted to, since they have a massive drop for anyone who’s used to 0-4mm as well as a fair amount of support and a lot of shoe underfoot. Aka, not what I’d run in.

So I went out to the North Cheyenne Canyon area outside of CO Springs and just hiked. Without getting lost, I might add, despite the fact that I didn’t have a map and my GPS wasn’t picking up satellites. Hell yeah internal navigation skills. I took it easy, taking a couple longish (5-10 minute) breaks to enjoy the scenery and give my shin a rest, just in case. There was also a mountain bike race happening on part of the trail I was on and I waited 15 minutes for them to go by, but they were taking forever to get there so I moved on. Too bad, I wanted to see a real live bike race down a mountain, but I also wanted to hike.

‘Twas a goodly hike. I’ve no idea how far I went, but it was beautiful and I got off the mountains before clouds started rolling in. I also met some hobbyist geology nerds (self-proclaimed) and a very, very adorable corgi (mix?) named Heinz.

And although you probably don’t need them after that bundle of cuteness, here are some trail pictures. Pssh, boooring.

So many bright new green aspens. The picture, of course, doesn’t do it justice.

And now I’m going to sleep. Goodnight moon.

bec

Leave a Reply

