Well, I’m at 6 weeks.

It’s been six weeks since I went to the doc and was told Not To Run, and I haven’t. Just biking. The sore spot seems to be pretty much gone, but since I’m not 100% sure if it’s actually better, I’m going to give it another week or two. I mean, I’ve already gone 7 months without running regularly, I figure it’s worth another little 7 or 14 days to ensure my recovery.

I moved back into my apartment at school yesterday, so this morning I woke up (at 8!) and biked about 15 miles. I was on my road bike, which is kind of a hybrid (straight handlebar with the side grips, wider tires than road), so I was able to (accidentally) go on some of the trails around here. Exploring new trails in new places is definitely exciting and awesome and amazingly fun, but there’s something to be said for setting foot (tire in this case) on the familiar paths, the ones whose every turn and tree and root you know by heart. It’s like pulling into your driveway at the end of a trip and seeing your house, finally sleeping in your own bed again.

Happy trails to you! peace love and running,
bec

PS. I’ll be volunteering at Richie’s aid station at Run Woodstock this weekend – will I see any of you there?

Leave a Reply

