Snow-induced running

As much as I dread the dark, frozen days of January through March, I’ve woken up the past few mornings hoping to see a little layer of the white stuff covering the leafless limbs outside my window. This morning, my wish was granted. That, combined with an annoyingly persistent mental slump, led me to more or less leap out of bed and into my winter running gear.

I did a loop that’s a little over 4 miles, 3 of which are basically flat pavement. It was windy and snowy and cold and wonderful. I did a very flat/slightly midfoot landing in an effort to minimize stress on my shins, and it worked for the most part. I just had to stop and walk for maybe 300m not for pain in the stress fracture spot, but more vague pain around the top of my left foot and up into the ankle. So that’s a fun new thing.

It was a slow run, and I experience a burning sensation in my chest that I haven’t felt in years. I’m actually out of shape. Like, really. Jogging along at maybe 9 min/mi. But a run’s a run.

peace love and winter running,
becca

One thought on “Snow-induced running

Leave a Reply

