Ebensburg, PA Turkey Trot

This year on Thanksgiving morning, me, my parents, my brother, my aunt and uncle, and two of my cousins braved near single-digit windchills and icy roads for our (relatively new) tradition of a 5k turkey trot around where they live in western PA. We layered up and headed out.

Since my brother was back from the Big Apple and I’m still very wary of my shin, I decided to hang back with him. So my time wasn’t typical, but it was fun nonetheless and actually not too bad temperature-wise. It helped that although the streets were fairly slippery, the hills and trees and everything else were also icy, which made the course beautiful. We’d had a big ice storm the night before, so every tree, shrub, and tall grass was coated in a heavy glittering layer. The sun was out, the sky was blue, and the hills and valleys were covered in diamonds.

And the age group prize was beer, so that was cool.

turkey-trot-finish
Skidding across the finish.

My shin felt ok, but I’m still going to give it a few more weeks. I’ve realized better safe than sorry is better than having a few okay runs then being out of commission again for even longer.

Peace love and layered-up winter running!
becca

PS. Here are some pictures not from the race, but from the top of Laurel Mtn. in PA. (There’s a great 75-miler out there…)

One thought on “Ebensburg, PA Turkey Trot

Leave a Reply

