Marching into March with meager mileage but good strides

Yeah, word play, etc.

March has been good to Michigan so far, with sun and balmy temps as high as 46 (aka tank top weather!). The last week wasn’t high in mileage, just 26, but I was satisfied with the runs that I went on. The trails have been rather sloppy, so I’ve been running on paved/flat surfaces which is kind of a bummer but (a) allows me to wear the NB1400, which doesn’t seem to bother my arch (either that or it’s the trails’ uneven surface) and (b) get up some speed, which is nicely in line with the weather picking up. I didn’t run long during the week, but yesterday I did a surprisingly good 11 on the dirt roads around here. Averaged about 8:30s for that run, with two mostly downhill miles in the latter half hovering around 7:30s. Then today I did 8.5 back at home on muddy sunny dirt roads, and hit closer to 8:10s.

As it turns out, as I’ve probably said before, pushing and working hard and putting in effort feels good and pays off. I’m going to take Monday as a rest day, probably lift a little and bike, then Tu/W/Th will be 7/5/7, Friday rest, and Sat/Sun will be 13/10. (40 mile week) Hopefully the ever-warmer temps this week will help the trails clear out – I’d love to get my trail pace up too!

Sorry this is a little scattered and unpoetic, I’m very sleepy. Just wanted to get something down.

Six weeks until undergrad is over! Help.

Bec

Leave a Reply

